Publications

CSAS publishes the following series:

Science Advisory Reports (SAR) (2005 +)

Created in 2005, Science Advisory Reports include traditional Stock Status Reports, Ecosystem Status Reports, and Habitat Status Reports. Moreover, management strategies, frameworks and guidelines on the assessment or evaluation on specific issues, impacts of human activities on ecosystem components as well as recovery assessments on a species or population, are also included in this series.

 

Research Documents (1977 +)

This series documents the scientific basis for the evaluation of fisheries resources in Canada. As such, it addresses the issues of the day - in the time frames required for management - by providing progress reports on ongoing investigations. The research documents use scientific and technical terms and are published in the official language in which they are provided to the secretariat.

 

Proceedings (1996 +)

The Proceedings Series contains publications which record the activities at meetings or workshops of which DFO is a sponsor. The Proceedings generally record decisions, recommendations, and major points of discussion at these meetings and workshops. Formats in the Proceedings Series are flexible, to accommodate the many types of meetings which must be covered. In all cases an objective is to reflect in the Proceedings the diversity of opinion present in the discussions at the meeting or workshop.

 

Science Responses (2006 +)

This series documents the responses provided by DFO Science for issues handled via the Science Special Response Processes (SSRPs). The SSRPs are generally used when Science has to respond to urgent and unforeseen requests for scientific information / advice or to respond to a request for which advisory precedents already exist.

For more information on SSRPs and the circumstances they can be used, consult the Operational Guidelines for Science Special Response Processes (SSRPs).

 

Former Status Reports:

Stock Status Reports (SSR) (1993-2004)

This series documents the status of different stocks of fish, invertebrates and marine mammals in Canada as well as some ecosystem and environmental issues.

From 1993 to 1996, and 2003 to 2004, Stock Status Reports were numbered by year and sequential number (i.e.: 1993/001). For 1997 to 2002, the SSR numbering system functioned with a permanent alphanumeric identifier number designating first the taxonomic grouping and region, and second the stock number (i.e.: D0-01 (2002)).

 

Ecosystem Status Reports (ESR) (2003-2004)

The Ecosystem Status Report series reports on overviews of the status of ecosystems, oceanographic conditions, biological communities, and other integrative evaluations of status of areas, from local to very large spatial scales.

Prior to 2003, the standard oceanographic conditions reports were published in the Stock Status Report series.

 

Habitat Status Reports (HSR) (2003-2004)

This series reports on human activities that may impact aquatic ecosystems or components of those ecosystems, including the nature of the activities, their extent, their interactions with ecosystem components, and interactions with other human activities on the same areas. Generally, the effects of fisheries on fish stocks were reported in the Stock Status Report series, with regard to their effects on the dynamics of the targeted stocks or bycatch. However, some types of fishing effects were more appropriately included in the HSR series.

Publications

Le SCCS publie les séries suivantes :

Avis scientifiques (AS) (2005 +)

Depuis 2005, les Avis scientifiques comprennent les rapports traditionnels sur l’état des stocks, l’état des écosystèmes, et l’état des habitats. De plus celle-ci comprend aussi les stratégies de gestion, les cadres d’orientation et lignes directrices pour l’évaluation d’enjeux particuliers, les incidences d’activités humaines sur l’écosystème, et le rétablissement d’une espèce ou d’une population.

 

Documents de recherche (1977 +)

Cette série documente les bases scientifiques pour l'évaluation des ressources halieutiques au Canada. Elle traite des problèmes courants, selon les échéanciers requis pour la gestion des stocks, en fournissant des rapports d'étape sur les études en cours. Les documents de recherche utilisent des termes scientifiques et techniques et sont publiés dans la langue officielle dans laquelle ils ont été produits et envoyés au Secrétariat.

 

Comptes rendus (1996 +)

La série des comptes rendus contient des publications qui notent les activités lors de réunions ou ateliers parrainés par le MPO. Généralement, les comptes rendus font état des décisions, des recommandations et des principaux éléments de discussion de ces réunions et ateliers. Le format des comptes rendus varie pour convenir aux divers types de réunions. Dans tous les cas, l'objectif est de refléter les diverses opinions présentées lors des discussions.

 

Réponses des Sciences (2006 +)

La présente série documente les réponses fournies par le secteur des Sciences du MPO sur les enjeux traités dans le cadre du processus spécial de réponse des Sciences (PSRS). Les PSRS sont généralement utilisés lorsque le secteur des Sciences doit répondre à des demandes urgentes et imprévues d’information ou d’avis scientifiques ou encore, à une demande sur un sujet ayant déjà fait l’objet de consultations.

On trouvera une description plus détaillée des PSRS et des situations justifiant leur utilisation dans les Lignes directrices opérationnelles pour les processus spéciaux de réponse des Sciences (PSRS)

 

Rapports d'état antérieurs :

Rapports sur l’état des stocks (RÉS) (1993-2004)

Cette série documente l’état des différents stocks de poissons, d’invertébrés et de mammifères marins du Canada ainsi que des enjeux relatifs aux écosystèmes et à l’environnement.

De 1993 à 1996, et de 2003 à 2004, les rapports d'états des stocks étaient numérotés par anné et numéro de séquence (par exemple : 1993/001). De 1997 à 2002, un numéro d’identification alphanumérique permanent était attribué à chaque rapport sur l’état des stocks. Ces numéros étaient composés d’un code de deux parties désignant d’abord le groupe taxonomique et la région, puis le numéro du stock (par exemple : D0-01 (2002)).

 

Rapports sur l’état des écosystèmes (RÉÉ) (2003-2004)

Cette série donne une vue d'ensemble de l’état des écosystèmes, des conditions océanographiques, des communautés biologiques et d'autres évaluations de synthèse de l'état de régions ou secteurs, d'une échelle locale jusqu'à une très grande échelle.

Avant 2003, les rapports courants sur les conditions océanographiques étaient publiés dans la série des Rapports sur l'état des stocks.

 

Rapports sur l’état des habitats (RÉH) (2003-2004)

Cette série traite des activités anthropiques qui peuvent avoir un impact sur les écosystèmes aquatiques ou sur certains de leurs composants. On y aborde la nature et l'ampleur de ces activités ainsi que leurs interactions avec les composants des écosystèmes et les autres activités anthropiques dans les mêmes régions. En général, les répercussions des pêches sur les stocks de poissons seront documentées dans la série des Rapports sur l'état des stocks, en considérant leurs effets sur la dynamique des stocks visés directement ou touchés par le biais des prises accessoires. Cependant, les pêches peuvent entraîner certains types de répercussions qu'il serait plus approprié d'inclure dans la série des RÉH.